Climate | Soil

Our Soils

Multi-layered bedrock soils characterize the Sausal. The steep slopes with a gradient of up to 90% originated 300 million years ago in the Paleozoic, and their soils are made of phyllitic slate.

The South Styrian region surrounding Sausal was at that time under an ancient sea, from which the Sausal protruded as an island. Therefore, there are no chalky marine deposits, but rather argillaceous shale, sericite quartzite, green slate, red and blue-black slate, and inclusions of potash feldspar. There are only occasional calcium deposits at lower altitudes.

You can taste the slate in our wines: there are the smoky, minerally and spicy notes that indicate this type of soil.

Our Climate

In Sausal the Illyrian climate, a transitional area from the Mediterranean to the Pannonian and alpine climates, prevails. It rains here more than in Pannonian areas due to Mediterranean lows, there are also more hours of sunshine and the average summer temperatures climb above 20 ° C. Winters are cool, and in the lower altitudes fog-prone, like they are in the lowlands of northern Italy.

The Sausal also cools sharply at night due to its proximity to the Koralpe mountains. Because of the large temperature differences between day and night, complex and layered flavors are formed in the grapes. They contribute a great deal to the Sausal typicity: a smoky minerality, and more spice than fruit flavors in the foreground.

The altitude of the Sausal vineyards brings, with its coolness, a long and slow growing season. The grapes need correspondingly longer to reach physiological maturity, and even at very high levels of ripeness preserve a finely balanced acidity. Sausal wines always remain lean due to their minerality and freshness, and impress with their deep, spicy aromas.

Comments are closed.

Klima | Böden

Unsere Böden

Vielschichtige Urgesteinsböden prägen das Sausal. Die Steillagen mit einem Gefälle von bis zu 90 % sind vor 300 Millionen Jahren im Paläozoikum entstanden, ihre Böden bestehen aus phyllitischem Schiefer.

Die das Sausal umgebende Südsteiermark lag zu jener Zeit unter einem Urmeer, aus dem das Sausal wie eine Insel herausragte. Deshalb gibt es hier keine kalkhaltigen Meeresablagerungen, sondern Tonschiefer, Serizitquarzite, Grünschiefer, roten und blau-schwarzen Schiefer und Einsprengungen von Kalifeldspat. Nur vereinzelt finden sich Kalkablagerungen in tieferen Lagen.

Den Schiefer schmeckt man in unseren Weinen: Es sind die rauchigen, mineralischen und würzigen Noten, die auf diese Art von Böden hinweisen.

 

Unser Klima

Im Sausal herrscht das illyrische Klima als Übergang vom mediterranen zum pannonischen Klima und Alpen-Klima vor. Es regnet hier bedingt durch Mittelmeertiefs mehr als in pannonisch beeinflussten Gebieten, es gibt auch mehr Sonnenstunden, und das Sommermittel klettert auf über 20° C. Die Winter sind kühl und in den unteren Lagen nebelanfällig, ähnlich wie in der Tiefebene Oberitaliens.

Auch in den Nächten kühlt es durch die Nähe zur Koralpe stark ab. Aufgrund der starken Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Tag und Nacht bilden sich in den Weintrauben komplexe und vielschichtige Aromen aus. Sie tragen einen großen Teil zur Sausaler Typizität bei: rauchige Mineralität, mehr Würze als vordergründige Fruchtaromen.

Die Höhenlage der Sausaler Weingärten mit ihrer Kühle bringt einen langen und langsamen Vegetationsverlauf mit sich. Die Trauben brauchen entsprechend länger bis zur physiologischen Reife und bewahren sich auch bei sehr hohen Reifegraden eine feine ausgleichende Säure. Sausaler Weine bleiben aufgrund ihrer Mineralität und Frische immer schlank und beeindrucken durch tiefgründige würzige Aromen.

 

Comments are closed.